Skip to main content
tree branches images

Standing Committees at LBC

Briggs Advisory Council
Composition of the Briggs Advisory Council (BAC) shall be three from among the regular faculty as defined in 1.1, one from among the fixed term faculty and the teaching focused academic specialists, one from among the academic affairs staff, one from among the support staff, and two students enrolled in the College. If the fixed term faculty and teaching focused academic specialists, academic student affairs staff, or support staff are unable to provide one representative in any given term, that position will remain vacant for that term. All members have the duty of acting in the interest of the College as a whole. The BAC shall normally meet with the Dean, but may meet without the Dean if it so desires. The mode of participation of BAC shall be advisory.

Faculty Email Phone Term Ends
Hanni Nichols 353-9526 8/16/18
AK Zeleke 353-4504 8/16/17
Ryan Sweeder 432-0884 8/16/18
Naoko Wake * 884-3928 8/16/17
Elizabeth Simmons 353-6486 Ex-officio
Academic Advisor Rep
Kent Workman 353-6480 8/16/17
LBC Staff Rep
Heather Bentley 884-6035 8/16/17
Student Reps
Joe Friedli 5/16/16
Sabrina Fowler 5/16/16
Ankit Naik 5/16/16
Victoria Badia 5/16/16

* sabbatical replacement for Sean Valles, whose term ends on 8/16/18

Briggs Inclusivity (LBC Inc.)The Lyman Briggs Committee for Inclusivity (LBC Inc.) shall have a membership composed of three faculty representatives, one representative from academic student affairs, one staff representative, and two students. LBC-Inc: to promote and foster an inclusive environment and equal opportunities for all LBC students, faculty, and staff through education, research, and service.

Faculty Email Phone Term Ends
Kendra Cheruvelil 353-9528 8/16/17
Arthur Ward 353-4855 8/16/18
Rebecca Lahr 884-3930 8/16/18
Academic Advisor Rep
Sharita Williamson 353-6480 8/16/18
LBC Staff Rep
Danielle Parish 353-4869 8/15/18
Student Reps      
Stephanie Helminiak   5/16/16
Maya Denslow   5/16/16

Briggs Community Council (BCC)
The Briggs Community Council (BCC) shall consist of all of the voting faculty and student representation equal to the least integer not less than 20% of the voting faculty as defined.

Educational Policy Committee
The EPC focuses on issues related to academics, majors, and courses.

Faculty Email Phone Term Ends
Aklilu Zeleke 353-4504 8/16/18
Cheryl Murphy 353-4878 8/16/18
Rob LaDuca 432-2268 8/16/17
Sara Fingal 353-3909 8/16/18
Rob Pennock 432-7701 8/16/17
Mark Largent 353-4802 Ex-officio
Philip Strong* 353-6480 Ex-officio
Student Reps      
Danie Weiss   5/16/17
Lindsay Dean   5/16/17

*Jonelle Golding attends for Philip Strong

Awards Committee
The Awards Committee receives the nominations and is responsible for the selection of candidates for internal awards and scholarships as well as nominations for external awards.

Faculty Email Phone Term Ends
Dan Menchik 353-4854 8/16/18
Peter White 353-4761 8/16/17
Elizabeth Simmons* 353-6486 Ex-officio
Academic Advisor Rep
Anne Slavin 353-6480 8/16/18
Student Reps
Lindsay Dean  
Stephanie Helminiak  

*Rob LaDuca attends for Elizabeth Simmons

Speaker Series Committee

Faculty Email Phone Term Ends
Richard Bellon (chair) (517) 353-1739 6/15/18
Robert Bell (517) 353-4857 6/15/18
Megan Halpern (517) 432-6141 6/15/18
Heng Wang (517) 884-1520 6/15/18